The City of Light

Paris is a wondrous city, known as the City of Light, due to it leading role in the Age of Enlightenment. I’ve been to Paris twice in my life, both times with my friend Sean. Our first trip was summer after versaillesour senior year of high school, the second was our junior year of college, Sean was studying abroad in Madrid, I was in Rome.

Before that first trip to Paris I had never been to Europe and now I plan on going back as often as possible. That first day we did all the typical tourist spots; my favorite will always be Notre Dame. The following day we visited the opulence that is Versailles, walking through the gardens is like being transported to a different world. That summer we managed toparis2 be in Paris for Bastille Day, France’s version of 4th of July, so we watched the parade and went to the top of Montmartre to see the fireworks.

That first trip to Paris definitely warranted another trip when we returned to Europe. We met in Paris with a few other friends in November of 2014. Being the Disney fanatic that I am, we decided on a trip to Euro Disney was in order. The park was near empty and decorated for Christmas, it was a magical experience. That night we went on a river tour of Pari
s, watching the Eiffel Tower glitter on the hour. After the tour was over we sat underneath the Eiffel Tower eating crepes and drinking champagne.

paris The next day, early in the morning, we climbed to the top of the Eiffel Tower, although visibility wasn’t great, being up that high was incredible. After, we explored the Louvre, which we all agreed we easily could have spent another full week discovering. The next stop was the lovelock bridge in Paris, which easily might be my favorite spot in the city. Seeing how many couples have visited the spot and locked their love onto the bridge is inspiring. The four of us locked our friendship onto that bridge and promised we would all return to Paris together in the future.

One thought on “The City of Light

  1. blue17cristy says:

    I think it so cool that you’ve been to Paris twice already, I’m actually planning a trip to Paris this summer and reading this post just got me so much more excited about going since I have never been there. I wonder what you thought of Versailles, especially been there I feel like you would feel powerless in such a grand and elegant building. How different was going to Disney in Paris? Sounds like not many people go there.

    Like

Leave a comment